Free listing of your Website and Company Information

Halifax County was founded in 1758 and covers an area of 731 square miles with 6 square miles being water. The county seat is Halifax. Halifax County received it’s name from George Montague-Dunk, a British Statesman who was the 2nd Earl of Halifax and the President of the Board of Trade from 1748 to 1761.

Halifax County becomes a very colorful county in early November when the cotton fields are in full bloom. There are twelve cities and towns located in Halifax County, which include Aurelian Springs, Brinkleyville, Enfield, Halifax, Heathsville, Hobgood, Littleton, Roanoke Rapids, Scotland Neck, South Rosemary, South Weldon and Weldon. The county is also divided into twelve townships.

Halifax County is the ancestral homelands of the Haliwa-Saponi tribe of Native Americans. These are only one of eight tribes recognized by the state of North Carolina. Although the Saponi tribe seems to have left the area in the 18th century, in 1979 the Haliwa tribe added the Saponi name to theirs to reflect the descent of the Saponi, Tuscarora and Nansemond peoples of the present day.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

The Team
North Carolina Information is run on an entirely voluntary basis by an Anglo-American husband and wife team. To have your business in NC included for free, please send us your details thru the "Add My Business" page. If you would like to contribute towards our expenses, please use the PayPal link below.
Secure PayPal payment

Custom Website design