Free listing of your Website and Company Information

Founded on April 17th,1881 a portion of Orange and Wake Counties became known as Durham County, then later in 1911 another portion of Wake County was transformed into Durham County and became known as Carr Township. Durham County covers an area of 298 square miles. The county seat is Durham, which is the only incorporated city located within the county.

Durham County and the city of Durham received its name in honor of Dr. Bartlett Snipes Durham, who was responsible for the donation of the land on which the railroad station was once located. The county is made up of six townships, which include Carr, Durham, Lebanon, Mangum, Oak Grove and Triangle.

Durham County is most noted for the world famous Duke University and is mostly a Democratic county with 40% of the population being African American. Durham County has shown that it will usually vote for a democratic candidate in any election. To date the last time that the county voted for a Republican presidential candidate was in 1972.


© Windspirit

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

The Team
North Carolina Information is run on an entirely voluntary basis by an Anglo-American husband and wife team. To have your business in NC included for free, please send us your details thru the "Add My Business" page. If you would like to contribute towards our expenses, please use the PayPal link below.
Secure PayPal payment

Custom Website design