Free listing of your Website and Company Information

Duplin County was founded in 1750 from a portion of New Hanover County, then in 1784 the western portion of Duplin County became Sampson County. Duplin County covers an area of 819 square miles. The county seat is Kenansville.

Duplin County received its name from Thomas Hay, Viscount Dupplin who later became the 9th Earl of Kinnoull. John Miller was a well-known postmaster and merchant in Duplin County who, along with several other North Carolinians moved to Florida in the 1830’s and 1840’s to establish a very successful cotton plantation known as Miccosukee Plantation.

The revenue for Duplin County mostly comes from the raising of animals for food consumption. It is said that the county has more hogs than any other county in the United States. Besides hogs, the county is a major producer of chickens and turkeys.

Duplin County is divided into 13 townships, which include Albertson, Cypress Creek, Faison, Glisson, Island Creek, Kenansville, Limestone, Magnolia, Rockfish, Rose Hill, Smith, Warsaw, and Wolfscrape.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

The Team
North Carolina Information is run on an entirely voluntary basis by an Anglo-American husband and wife team. To have your business in NC included for free, please send us your details thru the "Add My Business" page. If you would like to contribute towards our expenses, please use the PayPal link below.
Secure PayPal payment

Custom Website design