Free listing of your Website and Company Information

Founded in 1668 Currituck County with the county seat having the same name, Currituck. The county covers an area of 526 square miles of which 50% is water and 50% is land. It is believed that the name Currituck is a traditional Indian word for wild geese. Currituck County is located in the northeastern portion of North Carolina. Currituck County is only one of three counties in North Carolina to have no incorporated towns or cities.

The Currituck National Wildlife Refuge and a portion of the Mackay Island National Wildlife Refuge are located in Currituck County. Both are national protected areas. Pine trees are a known variety of trees found in Currituck County.

Currituck County is made up of 22 settlements which include, Aydlett, Barco, Carova Beach, Coinjock, Corolla, Currituck, Grandy, Gregory, Harbinger, Knotts Island, Jarvisburg, Mamie, Moyock, Point Harbor, Poplar Beach, Powells Point, Sanderling, Shawboro, Slingo, Spot and Waterlily.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

The Team
North Carolina Information is run on an entirely voluntary basis by an Anglo-American husband and wife team. To have your business in NC included for free, please send us your details thru the "Add My Business" page. If you would like to contribute towards our expenses, please use the PayPal link below.
Secure PayPal payment

Custom Website design