Free listing of your Website and Company Information

Cumberland County was founded in 1754 from portions of Bladen County. Later in July 1784 the western portion of Cumberland County became Moore County. The county was named for Prince William Augustus, Duke of Cumberland who served as captain and general of the British army and became a victorious commander at the Battle of Culloden. Cumberland County covers an area of 658 square miles. Fayetteville was named as the county seat.

Fayetteville State University makes its home in Cumberland County, helping to make the Cumberland County School system the fourth largest public school system in the entire state of North Carolina. Cumberland County has 11 high schools located throughout the county.

12 cities and towns make up Cumberland County, those include Eastover, Falcon, Fayetteville, Fort Bragg, Godwin, Hope Mills, Linden, Pope AFB, Spring Lake, Stedman, Vander and Wade. A large portion of Cumberland County is considered military.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

The Team
North Carolina Information is run on an entirely voluntary basis by an Anglo-American husband and wife team. To have your business in NC included for free, please send us your details thru the "Add My Business" page. If you would like to contribute towards our expenses, please use the PayPal link below.
Secure PayPal payment

Custom Website design