Free listing of your Website and Company Information

Founded in 1722,  Carteret County, which covers an area of 1,341 square miles. Of the 1,341 square miles approximately 61.2% is covered by water. The county seat of Carteret County is Beaufort.

The county of Carteret received its name from John Carteret, 2nd Earl Granville. Most of Carteret County is known as the Crystal Coast. The first male of English parents to known to have been be born in Carteret County was John Fulford in 1629. John lived in the area from his birth until his death in 1729. Carteret County Historical Society did a survey in an area known as the Straits in 1971 and located a grave in the Fulton Cemetery off Piper Lane in Gloucester to verify the claims of John’s grave, they in fact did find such a grave, but today there is not any evidence of it.

Carteret County is home to Cape Lookout National Seashore, Cedar Island National Wildlife Refuge and a portion of the Croatan National Forest, all of which are protected areas. The cities or towns of Atlantic Beach, Beaufort, Bogue, Cape Carteret, Cedar Point, Emerald Isle, Indian Beach, Morehead City, Newport, Peletier and Pine Knoll Shores are all located within Carteret County.

You will also find the communities of Atlantic, Bettie, Broad Creek, Cedar Island, Davis, Gales Creek, Gloucester, Harkers Island, Harlowe, Lola, Marshallberg, Merrimon, Mill Creek, North River, Ocean, Orway, Salter Path, Sea Gate, Sealevel, Stacy, Stella, Straits, Smyrna, Wildwood, Williston and Wiregrass, all of which are unincorporated communities.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

The Team
North Carolina Information is run on an entirely voluntary basis by an Anglo-American husband and wife team. To have your business in NC included for free, please send us your details thru the "Add My Business" page. If you would like to contribute towards our expenses, please use the PayPal link below.
Secure PayPal payment

Custom Website design